Runaway Dinosaur

For the love of the music…..

October 20th 1977, The Day of The Lynyrd Skynyrd Plane Crash

Posted by jhochstat on October 19, 2008

Free Bird

If I leave here tomorrow,
Would you still remember me?
For I must be traveling on, now,
‘Cause there’s too many places I’ve got to see.
But if I stayed here with you, girl,
Things just couldn’t be the same.
‘Cause I’m as free as a bird now,
And this bird you can not change.
And the bird you can not change.
And this bird you can not change.
Lord knows, I can’t change.

Bye bye baby, it’s been a sweet love. Yea.
And though this feeling I can’t change.
But please don’t take it so badly,
‘Cause the Lord knows I’m to blame.
And if I stay here with you girl,
Things just couldn’t be the same.
Cause I’m as free as a bird now,
And this bird you’ll never change.
And the bird you can not change.
And this bird you can not change.
The Lord knows, I can’t change.
Lord help me, I can’t change.
Lord I can’t change.
Won’t cha fly high free bird, yeah.

Lynyrd Skynyrd  – Free Bird July 4th 1977 Oakland California

2 Responses to “October 20th 1977, The Day of The Lynyrd Skynyrd Plane Crash”

  1. Breeze said

    Although Ronnie is no longer here….his spirit and talent lives on through his music.
    Fly On Free Bird Fly On…Peace from the sands of a southern Florida beach!!!!

  2. I was very sorry to hear of Billy’s passing. The band has been in my life for as long as I can remember (I’m 47, blame it on the weed!!) This band has been in my life through friendships, breakups, marriage, and yeah, divorce. I could always find a smile or if in that mood, a tear, but always I could sit back and take in the beauty of the music. Billy will be missed as will all the members of Lynard Skynard that have passed. To all the fans that are out there that read this, you know I’m not lying when I say this is the BEST band of all time.
    I say a prayer to Billy’s family now. May he be free as a bird.

Leave a Reply

 
