Runaway Dinosaur

For the love of the music…..

Update: ‘Dark Knight’ sets weekend record with $155.34M

Posted by T Rex on July 19, 2008

For the second time this summer I went out to see two movies on the night they opened something I have never done before. The first was a few weeks back to see Wall-E with my 3yr old son (which we both loved) and last night I trekked out early and saw Dark Knight. I’m not here to try and be a movie critic on our music blog but Dark Knight is really that good and not all hype which I was expecting. The story moved quickly and was non-stop action. The special effects were amazing and I can only imagine what some of the scenes looked liked in the iMax theaters. It’s really sad of the death of Heath Ledger after watching his performance because he created such a deep, dark, twisted and demented Joker it would have been special to watch him develop the character further in the Batman series.

This article on Wired from the AP News confirms that a lot people did the same thing I did yesterday.

‘The Dark Knight” set a one-day box office record with $66.4 million on opening day, Warner Bros. head of distribution Dan Fellman said Saturday.

The movie’s Friday haul surpassed the previous record of $59.8 million set last year by “Spider-Man 3.” “The Dark Knight” might break the opening-weekend record of $151.1 million, also held by “Spider-Man 3.”

One Response to “Update: ‘Dark Knight’ sets weekend record with $155.34M”

  1. Daniel said

    I loved this movie, but I still liked Iron Man better. If I were into the comic book series as much as many of the people who got more out of it, I’m sure I would have been able to follow much better and understand the references much more clearly. That would have affected my decision. However, Iron Man was still able to appeal to me on a much greater level, as I am not one who read every comic book.
    I still highly recommend this movie, because Heath Ledger’s last performance of his life was a great way to go out. I especially loved the “magic trick” he did with the pencil.

Leave a Reply

 
