Runaway Dinosaur

For the love of the music…..

See the music

Posted by T Rex on November 20, 2007

I’m extremely happy to feature a very talented photographer who has captured her life adventures with incredible talent and individual style. I’ve been a fan of her work without her knowledge and was thrilled when she agreed to contribute some of her photos, gear expertise and rock and roll stories to Runaway Dinosaur. Here is a little background to kick off her new column, See the music. Welcome Beana Bern her own words…….

 

In the Information Age when cell phones are the new lighters at concerts and laptops serve as modern day campfires pulling people together to watch some clip on Youtube or to check out pictures from last night’s party, the ways in which we are able to record our careful days seem limitless. This Digital Age has made photographers and cinematographers out of all of us and blurred the lines between professional, amateur and accidental.

Whether you are one, two or all three of those things, one thing remains true-you know when you have preserved the moment, captured the spirit and managed to stop time. For me, photography preserves the moments that are so fleeting that, like a moonrise over the ocean or a watery-slick guitar solo, they run through you, like electricity, and then vanish. Aaron Siskland once said that, “Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever…it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”

I began taking photographs longer than I can remember. Things got serious in high school when I began processing my own B&W film shot on my 35mm Pentax ME Super. I eventually graduate to my first 35mm SLR, a Canon EOS Elan shifting from processing my own film to experimenting more with compositional elements and color.

Almost a decade passed between my Elan and my first digital camera but when the 1st came it was like a dam broke. I fully embraced the digital medium, perhaps even more so than film, and the rest is history.

Around the time that my love for photography was first blooming I was also exposed to my first taste of rock and roll in a field in the outskirts of Kansas City. These two passions of mine developed continuously, though separately, for the next 10 years and did not meet again until one dark night in New York City.

beana1.jpg

Yoshimi (boredoms)-Webster Hall 2006

With 16 years of live music experience, I eventually had a desire to participate in the experience as more than a fan or a spectator. Saving ticket stubs and collecting posters gave me something tangible to hold onto but I wanted to contribute and collaborate and preserve the feeling that I had when I was lost in the music in a way that others could relate to. It was that wish of mine that first inspired me to bring my camera out to some rocks shows in New York.

The people that you meet and the tricks that you learn after so many dark clubs, green rooms, parking lots, photo pits, back stages, front rows, cheap hotels, Presidential Suites and all the other static orbits any concert, can eventually contribute to how (or if) you can photograph a show like a professional. I have learned some tricks (though I still have lots to learn) and have had the good fortune to shoot for the Village Voice, Theme Magazine, a myriad of amazing musicians along with some features on BrooklynVegan and a handful of other music blogs. I am going to swing by RunawayDinosaur from time to time to share some photographs, some rock and roll adventures, and some tips and tricks on how to try your hand at rock photography.

bean2.jpg

Peelander Z-CBGB’s 2006

Currently my photographic arsenal consists of the following:

Digitial

Canon 5D, Canon Eos Digital Rebel XT, Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8IS USM, Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L IS, Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6, Tamron 19-35mm Wideangle Fisheye, Nikon Coolpix s5, Nikon Coolpix s51

Film

HOLGA, Poloroid Sun 600, Pentax ME Super 35mm

Come back next week for re-cap of The Arcade Fire at Tonhalle in Munich……

See the music…

beana bern

http://www.BeanaBernPhotography.com

One Response to “See the music”

  1. […] See The Music…will be a regular feature on RunawayDinosaur and I invite you to swing by to hear me geek out about my cameras, share my rock and roll adventures, offer my input on tricks to organizing your digital archives…basically the same sweet mix of art and geek that you are used to from me by now. […]

Leave a Reply

 
